Support centre

Claim Enquiries

Support Centre - Claim Enquiries Close

Most popular questions

Self-insurance Bulletin


The self-insurance bulletin is a message board established to offer stakeholders the opportunity to provide written submissions about the following self-insurance activities:

  • New applications for approval as a self-insurer
  • Applications for renewal of approval as a self-insurer
  • Guidelines being developed for self-insurers by the Victorian WorkCover Authority (VWA) (where required)

When an activity is open for submission details of the activity including a submissions closure date will be listed under the relevant heading below. 

Making submissions

Submissions should be made in accordance with the following WorkSafe Victoria guidelines:

Requests for further information and submissions should be directed to: the Manager – Self-Insurance Operations, WorkSafe Victoria, 222 Exhibition Street, Melbourne VIC 3000; email:; or phone: 03 9641 1444.

New Applications for Approval as a self-insurer

Stakeholder submissions are currently invited on the following applications for approval as a self-insurer:
Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV) (submission due by 27 August 2016) including the following 31 entities:

1.        Bass Coast Shire Council

2.        Bayside City Council

3.        Cardinia Shire Council

4.        Casey City Council

5.        Corangamite Regional Library Service

6.        City of Greater Dandenong

7.        East Gippsland Shire Council

8.        Glenelg Shire Council

9.        Golden Plains Shire Council

10.      Hepburn Shire Council

11.      Hindmarsh Shire Council

12.      Horsham Rural City Council

13.      Indigo Shire Council

14.      Melton City Council

15.      Mildura Rural City Council

16.      Moyne Shire Council

17.      Municipal Association of Victoria

18.      Murrindindi Shire Council

19.      Northern Grampians Shire Council

20.      Port Phillip City Council

21.      Pyrenees Shire Council

22.      Queenscliffe Shire Council

23.      South Gippsland Shire Council

24.      Southern Grampians Shire Council

25.      Stonnington City Council

26.      Strathbogie Shire Council

27.      Swan Hill Rural City Council

28.      Wangaratta Rural City Council

29.      Warrnambool City Council

30.      West Wimmera Shire Council

31.      Wodonga City Council

Applications for Renewal of Approval as a self-insurer

Stakeholder submissions are currently invited on the following applications for renewal of approval as a self-insurer: 

  • Myer Holdings Limited (submission due by 31 July 2016) 
  • Goodman Fielder Pty Limited (submission due by 23 August 2016) 
  • BP Australia Group Pty Ltd (submission due by 31 August 2016)

Self-insurance Guidance Material

There is currently no Guidance Material that require consultation with self-insurers.