2011 WorkSafe Awards winners

The state’s best in workplace safety, health and return to work have been recognised in the annual WorkSafe Awards.
News article published

Thursday 20 Oct 2011

Industries and topics
  • Health and safety representatives
  • Return to work

More than 750 people watched as 11 winners received the prestigious honour at a sold-out event last night which saw employers, employees and safety industry stakeholders from across the state gather at the Crown Palladium Ballroom.

Thirty finalists from as far as Swan Hill and Orbost, and Geelong to northern Victoria as well as those based in Melbourne were recognised in the awards which are now in their 23rd year.

Small-town initiatives showcasing individual excellence, return to work comeback heroes, major companies committed to health and safety and helping to reduce workplace injuries, were just some of the winners that walked away with a gong this year.

A special commendation was also made to football legend Ron Barassi – WorkSafe’s Victorian Country Football League (VCFL) Ambassador since 2001 – for his outstanding contribution to health and safety.

Speaking at last night’s event, Assistant Treasurer, Gordon Rich-Phillips said the awards recognised the significant contribution of individuals and organisations in workplace health, safety and return to work.

“Victorian workplaces are the safest they have ever been and we continue to see the rate of workplace injuries trending downwards,” he said.

“These results reflect leadership, hard work and commitment of workers, health and safety representatives, supervisors and employers right across the state.”

“The awards highlight what can be accomplished when hazards and problems are identified and people work together to achieve a successful and safe resolution.”

“They’re an example not just of what can be done, but what should be done.”

A restructure of the awards and the introduction of new categories attracted a record 176 submissions this year.

WorkSafe’s Chief Executive, Greg Tweedly, congratulated the winners on a remarkable achievement.

“These individuals and businesses highlight the importance of making health and safety a priority in the workplace,” he said.

“Every worker is entitled to a safe workplace and to return home safely at the end of each day to friends, family and loved ones.”

“The WorkSafe Awards reflects the level of support the community has shown to recognising achievements and innovation in workplace health and safety.”

Entries for the WorkSafe Awards can be submitted year-round. Any entries received from now may be eligible to receive an Award at the dinner in October 2012. For more information, visit www.worksafeawards.com.au.

The winners of this year’s Annual WorkSafe Victoria Awards are (please click on the below links to access more information):

OHS Management System of the Year

This award recognises organisations that have demonstrated effective management of health and safety through the implementation of continual improvement strategies and processes.

Best Solution to a Workplace Health and Safety Issue

This award recognises excellence in developing and implementing a solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue.

  • CJM Attachments P/L with Swan Hill Rural City Council for its K-9 KUBE – Swan Hill

Best Health and Safety Initiative in a Small Business

This award acknowledges the work by small businesses (less than 20 workers) to introduce significant improvements to workplace health and safety.

Health and Safety Representative of the Year

This award acknowledges health and safety representatives (HSRs) who have made a significant contribution and demonstrable difference to occupational health and safety (OHS) within their designated workgroup.

*The recipient of this award will also receive a $4000 HSR Scholarship of the Year.

The scholarship is offered by WorkSafe to provide financial support to health and safety representatives to enable them to undertake study or training in occupational health and safety or a related discipline and access other forms of support that will assist them as a HSR in the workplace.

Health and Safety Committee of the Year

This award acknowledges the roles and functions of health and safety committees (HSCs) and recognises performance and achievements that demonstrate high level consultation and commitment to health and safety across the entire workplace.

Commitment to Workplace Health and Wellbeing

This award recognises leadership in demonstrating a whole-of-organisation commitment to promoting health and wellbeing at work.

Employer excellence

This award recognises, at an organisational level, an employer’s outstanding efforts to support the return to work of an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work in the last twelve months.

Occupational Rehabilitation Provider Achievement

This award recognises an approved occupational rehabilitation providers outstanding achievements in returning an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work in the last twelve months. 

Treating Health Practitioner Award

This award recognises a treating health practitioner’s outstanding achievements in returning an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work in the last twelve months.

Return to Work Coordinator Excellence

This award recognises an individual Return to Work Coordinator’s outstanding achievements in returning an injured worker(s) to safe and sustainable work.

Worker Return to Work Achievement Award

This award recognises a worker’s outstanding achievements in returning to work following a workplace injury.  


Special Commendation - Commitment to Workplace Health and Wellbeing

Outstanding Support for Health and Safety in the Community

  • Ron Barassi