Entry deadline looms for 2015 WorkSafe Awards

It is not too late for businesses and employees with a passion for improving workplace health and safety to enter the 2015 WorkSafe Victoria Awards.
News article published

Monday 15 Jun 2015

Industries and topics
  • Health and safety representatives
  • Return to work

The prestigious awards, now in their 27th year, close on Friday, 26 June.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Claire Amies said the awards were designed to recognise the ideas and the passion of organisations that have helped make Victoria the safest state in which to work.

“The WorkSafe Awards showcase the inspiring stories of businesses and individuals that are committed to keeping their workplaces safe,” Ms Amies said.

“We encourage organisations who are leading by example in relation to health and safety, and in helping injured workers back to safe work, to enter the awards.

“By entering, businesses acknowledge the commitment of their staff to a safe workplace. And, if they become finalists, their ideas and innovation are promoted so that they can be used as inspiration to others.

“So we encourage any business or employee with a great health and safety story to tell to enter. Their ideas and passion deserve to be recognised.”

There are nine award categories, all recognising outstanding contribution to workplace health and safety and return to work. The categories are:

Health and Safety:

  • Best solution to a specific workplace health and safety issue
  • Excellence in health and safety management
  • Health and safety representative of the year
  • Health and safety invention of the year
  • Commitment to workplace health and wellbeing
  • OHS Achievement

Return to Work:

  • Employer excellence in return to work
  • Return to Work Coordinator excellence
  • Worker return to work achievement

Winners will be announced at an awards presentation during WorkSafe’s Health and Safety Week in October. For more details or to enter the awards visit www.worksafeawards.com.au.