The WorkSafe Board

The WorkSafe Board is accountable to the Government, stakeholders and society.

Date last updated

Tuesday 10 Dec 2019

Headshot photo of John Merritt

John Merritt - Chairman

Bio coming soon.

Headshot image of Colin Radford

Colin Radford - Chief Executive

Bio coming soon.

Jane Brockington - Non Executive Director

B.Eco, GradDip (Economics), FIFAA (Vic)

Jane was appointed a non-executive Director of the WorkSafe Victoria Board in August 2017. Jane is the Principal of Bridging Policy and Practice where her work encompasses regulatory design and practice, governance and integrity and strategy, transformation and capability building.

Jane is also a non-executive Director on the board of TRY Australia and the Transport Accident Commission (TAC); she chairs the Audit and Risk Committees for VicRoads and Victoria Police and is a member of the Victoria Police Corporate Advisory Group and the Melbourne Forum Membership Committee. Previously Jane held leadership roles in the Victorian public sector including CEO of the Victorian Commission for Liquor and Gambling Regulation and the 2009 Victorian Bushfires Royal Commission.

  • Chair of WorkSafe Victoria Risk Committee
  • Member of WorkSafe Victoria Audit Committee

Doug Kearsley - Non Executive Director

B.Sc(Math)(Hons), GradDip (Operations Research)

Doug was appointed a non-executive director of the WorkSafe Victoria Board in April 2017. Doug has over 30 years’ experience working at a Senior Executive and Board level in the statutory insurance and finance sector including significant roles with the Transport Accident Commission of Victoria (TAC), WorkSafe Victoria, the Victorian Managed Insurance Authority (VMIA) and ESSSuper (current Director).

  • Chair of WorkSafe Victoria Audit Committee
  • Member of WorkSafe Victoria Risk Committee

Peter McMullin - Non Executive Director

B.Laws, B.Com

Peter was appointed as a non-executive Director of the WorkSafe Victoria Board in February 2018. He holds the position of Special Counsel at the law firm Cornwall Stodart. His diverse and high profile career includes 25 years' experience running a legal practice. Peter is the immediate past President of the Victorian Employers' Chamber of Commerce and Industry (VECCI) and has held various prominent community and organisational leadership roles. He has high level expertise in commercial and financial management, and is an experienced consultant and mediator across the public and private sectors.

  • Member of WorkSafe Victoria Remuneration Committee

Julie Warren - Non-Executive Director

Bio coming soon.

Maria Wilton AM - Non-Executive Director


Maria has a broad range of experience in the investment sector, and has held senior leadership positions in both asset management and superannuation.

She is a Member of the Board of Governors of the Charted Financial Analyst Institute, Deputy Chair of Infrastructure Victoria and a Director of Victorian Funds Management Corporation. She is Chair of the National Diversity Committee and a Member of the Advocacy Council of the Chartered Financial Analyst Societies Australia. She is also a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees.

Maria is the former Managing Director and Chair of Franklin Templeton Investments Australia and Senior Director of International Advisory Services – a role she held for 12 years. She was previously a Board Member of the Financial Services Council, and a Trustee Director of AGEST and Emergency Services & State Super.

She has also been a Director of Melbourne Water, the Transport Accident Commission, the National Breast Cancer Foundation and Victoria Legal Aid.

Maria was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia in the 2019 Australia Day Honours list for significant service to the business and finance sector, and to the community.

She holds a bachelor of economics from the University of Tasmania and is a Chartered Financial Analyst charter holder.