Entries open for the 30th annual WorkSafe Awards

The role that all Victorians can play in making workplaces safer will be highlighted at the 2018 WorkSafe Awards.


Entries are now open for 30th edition of the awards, with those who strive to improve workplace health, safety and wellbeing encouraged to nominate.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Clare Amies said the awards theme - ‘Play your Part: Celebrating 30 Years of What Matters Most’ - was a reminder that workplace safety was everyone’s concern.

“Last year 27 people lost their lives as a result of a serious incident in Victorian workplaces,” Ms Amies said.

“This toll is the highest since 2009, but is far more than a number. It means countless family members and friends missing loved ones, workplaces devastated by the death of a colleague and local communities left with a gap that can never be filled.”

Ms Amies said that in addition to the fatality toll, almost 26,000 workers were injured seriously enough in Victoria last year to make a claim.

“Reducing the number of fatalities and injuries is at the very heart of everything WorkSafe does but, in order for workplaces to continue to be safer, everyone must make safety their priority too,” she said.

Ms Amies said the 30th anniversary of the awards was a great opportunity to reflect on how occupational health and safety had progressed over the past three decades.

“Workplace health and safety has improved dramatically since the awards began in 1988 but what has never changed is the dedication of entrants in coming up with innovative ways to make workplaces across Victoria safer,” she said.

“These awards honour employers and workers who are making safety in the workplace a priority, and those who do everything they can to help injured workers return to safe work.”

Finance Minister Robin Scott said the awards showcased the rich variety of ways Victorian businesses and workers were addressing health and safety issues.

“The WorkSafe Awards recognise outstanding contributions to workplace health and safety and helping injured workers return to work,” Minister Scott said.

“It is both satisfying and reassuring to see the commitment by so many Victorians year after year to creating safer, healthier and happier workplaces.”

The categories for this year’s awards are:

  • Health and Safety Invention of the Year
  • OHS Achievement
  • Best Solution to a Specific Workplace Health and Safety Issue
  • Best Solution to a Manual Handling Issue
  • Health and Safety Representative of the Year
  • Commitment to Workplace Health and Wellbeing
  • Worker Return to Work Achievement
  • Leading Return to Work Practice by Employer
  • Return to Work Coordinator Excellence.

Nominations are open to all Victorian-based employers and workers, and entrants may nominate themselves or another person. Entries close 31 May 2018. Winners will be announced at a Gala Dinner at Crown on 18 October.