Finalists announced for prestigious safety awards

Emergency services personnel, a hospital and a tree company are among the 27 finalists for the 2018 WorkSafe Awards.


The prestigious awards recognise the outstanding contributions individuals and organisations have made to improve workplace health and safety and help injured workers return to work.

They also celebrate the dedication of injured workers who have overcome significant challenges to return to the workforce.

More than 170 entries from a variety of industries nominated for the awards.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Clare Amies said each finalist deserved recognition for their hard work and dedication to improving health and safety outcomes for workers and, in the case of injured workers themselves, their courage and perseverance to overcome obstacles and return to work.

“These determined businesses and individuals have in common a passionate approach to preventing workplaces injuries and illnesses and doing what they can to help others – or themselves – return to safe work after injury,” Ms Amies said.

“Our finalists have set a strong example for the community when it comes to workplace health and safety, and they deserve to be recognised.

“It is satisfying to see such a wide variety of industries represented and all the finalists should be commended for their commitment.”

Winners will be announced at a gala dinner at Crown Palladium on Thursday, 18 October.


Leading return to work practice by an employer

  • Metcash (Laverton North)
  • Mercy Health (Richmond)
  • Metropolitan Fire Brigade (Richmond)

Return to work coordinator excellence

  • Rachel Hope, MFB (Richmond)
  • Gillian Plummer, MFB (Oakleigh)
  • Nicole Shambrook, Ambulance Victoria (North Blackburn)
  • Stacey Guy, City of Ballarat

Worker return to work achievement award

  • Clinton Robins (Miners Rest)
  • Alfred Stinten (Morwell)
  • Joseph Vella (Kensington)
  • Chris Williams (Shepparton)

Commitment to workplace health and wellbeing

  • Cobild (South Yarra)
  • City of Boroondara
  • Darebin City Council

Best solution to a manual handling issue

  • Speciality Trees (Narre Warren East)
  • Southern Metropolitan Cemeteries Trust (Springvale)
  • The Reece Group – Prime Refrigeration Plant (Truganina)

OHS Achievement Award

  • St John of God Berwick Hospital (Berwick)
  • Melbourne Water (Melbourne)

Health and safety invention of the year

  • Workplace Maintenance Solutions Pty Ltd (Gisborne)
  • Ecogroup Pty Ltd (Dandenong South)
  • RattleJack Innovations Pty Ltd (Logan)

Best solution to specific workplace health and safety issue

  • McConnell Dowell Constructors (Australia) Pty Ltd (Port Melbourne)
  • Melbourne Water

Health and safety representative of the year

  • Daniel Gili, Diamond Valley Pork Pty Ltd (Laverton North)
  • Robert Kovacs, Victoria Police (Morwell)
  • David Tull, Ambulance Victoria (Seaford)