Calling all workplace safety champions

Victorian workplaces are being urged to share their stories and be celebrated for making a positive difference to workplace safety.


Nominations are now open for the 2021 WorkSafe Awards which will once again highlight the achievements of individuals, teams or organisations that reduce workplace harm.

The awards focus on innovative inventions, workplace safety solutions, OHS leadership and initiatives that help injured employees return to work and health.

This year's awards will also feature a new category to recognise individuals and businesses that have made significant difference to health and safety on farms, which continue to be among Victoria's most dangerous places of work.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Colin Radford said the awards, which had to be cancelled last year due to COVID-19, were an opportunity to showcase the most outstanding efforts to champion health and safety in the workplace.

"After such a difficult year, it's especially pleasing to be able to honour those Victorians developing new solutions to prevent workplace injuries and improve outcomes for injured workers," Mr Radford said.

"If you know an individual or organisation with an inspiring or innovative safety story to tell, please encourage them to share their achievements so we can recognise their efforts and continue to make workplaces safer for everyone."

On top of the recognition, the winner in each category will receive $2000.

The categories for this year's WorkSafe Awards are:

  • Health and Safety Representative of the Year
  • Workplace Health and Safety Solution of the Year
  • Worker Return to Work Achievement
  • Leading Return to Work Practice
  • OHS Leadership/Achievement
  • Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace
  • Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm

All employers and workers based in Victoria are eligible for the awards, and people can nominate themselves or another person before entries close on Friday 7 May.

WorkSafe is also contacting entrants from last year and will work with them to re-submit their entries for this year.

Winners will be announced in October during WorkSafe's annual Health and Safety Month.