WorkSafe Awards finalists announced

Outstanding workplace safety innovation and perseverance are the hallmarks of the 23 finalists shortlisted for the 2021 WorkSafe Awards.


WorkSafe received more than 180 nominations from across Victoria for the seven award categories, which recognise excellence in workplace health and safety and return to work.

Finalists include businesses, health and safety representatives, and people who have returned to work after injury, across industries such as health care, transport, construction, and farming.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Officer Colin Radford said it was wonderful to see the strength of entries in the Health and Safety Representative of the Year category, as well as in the new award for 2021, Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm.

"We wanted to shine a light on the outstanding work of HSRs representing Victorian workers, as well as achievements in farm safety, including innovations that save time and lives," he said.

Mr Radford commended all the finalists for their exceptional commitment to improving health and safety and to returning to work after injury.

"This year's finalists have developed innovative approaches to new issues – such as the challenges of safely treating COVID-19 patients – as well as fresh solutions to ongoing challenges," Mr Radford said.

"We’ve received many outstanding entries, including innovative use of technology, prevention-led approaches to mental health, and finalists going above and beyond in their commitment to workplace safety."

In the Worker Return to Work category, Mr Radford said the finalists had shown incredible resilience and determination – particularly given some faced additional challenges to recovery due to COVID-19.

"The WorkSafe Awards celebrate the things that organisations and individuals do every day to support health and safety at work. Congratulations to all of the finalists."

Winners of the WorkSafe Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony on 24 February next year.

Finalists by category

Health and Safety Representative of the Year

  • Adrian Lidsey and Christopher Ball (Crown Melbourne, Southbank)
  • Cameron McCormick (University High School, Parkville)
  • Alyce Dickson (Barwon Health, Geelong)

OHS Leadership/Achievement

  • Ash Presser (URBNSURF, Tullamarine)
  • Emily Blazely (MECCA Brands, Richmond)
  • Level Crossing Removal Project (Melbourne)

Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace

  • AECOM Australia (Melbourne)
  • Western Health (St Albans)
  • Level Crossing Removal Project (Melbourne)

Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm

  • Aurora Dairies (Cobden)
  • Stonyhurst Pastoral (Cundare)
  • Velisha National Farms (Werribee South)

Workplace Health and Safety Solution of the Year

  • AusNet Services (Melbourne)
  • Western Health (Footscray)
  • Equipment Safety Systems (Keysborough)
  • Wyndham City Council (Point Cook)

Leading Return to Work Practice

  • Alida Kildey (Goulburn Valley Health, Shepparton)
  • Chandler Macleod Group (Altona)
  • Michelle Duynhoven (Warrnambool Bus and Roadways, Warrnambool)

Worker Return to Work Achievement

  • Tim Flower (Powercor Australia, Bendigo)
  • George Vagias (Melbourne Water Corporate, Docklands)
  • Daniel Andrew (Transdev Melbourne, North Fitzroy)
  • Darren Smith (Southern Victorian Plumbing, Warrnambool)