2022 WorkSafe Awards entries closing soon

Victorian workplaces with a positive health and safety story have until 15 July to get their nominations in for the 2022 WorkSafe Awards.


The awards recognise excellence in improving workplace safety across seven categories, one of which is the Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace.

Western Health received this honour last year for its Predict, Prevent, Priority: Safety Strategy, which aims to address unsafe cultural practices to reduce workplace violence and aggression and mental injury.

"The strategy is a real game-changer," said Western Health Clinical Nurse Consultant Sharon Collard. "It's given us permission to step away from situations that could jeopardise our safety and wellbeing."

The frontline worker said the award had helped support a culture change in the healthcare industry.

"Traditionally, health professionals have been conditioned to put their own safety last."

"Being rewarded for our strategy sends a message to others in the healthcare industry that making change to prioritise staff safety is not only the right thing to do but is achievable."

WorkSafe Chief Executive Officer Colin Radford said preventing workplace mental injuries was one of WorkSafe’s key priorities, as emphasised in its 2021-24 Mental Health Strategy.

"We spend roughly a third of our lives at work so it's crucial that employers are doing all they can to provide a safe, supportive and positive environment," Mr Radford said.

"The opening of this year's awards has already created interest from a broad range of workplaces, but there is still time to enter.

"If you know anyone with an inspiring safety or return to work story, encourage them to apply so we can recognise their efforts in ensuring Victoria remains one of the safest places in the world to work."

Nominations are open to all Victorian-based employers and workers, and entrants can nominate themselves or another person.

Winners will be announced in February 2023.

Along with recognition, each winner will receive a $2000 cash prize.

The categories for this year's awards are:

  • Health and Safety Representative of the Year.
  • Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm.
  • Workplace Health and Safety Solution of the Year.
  • Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace.
  • OHS Leadership/Achievement.
  • Leading Return to Work Practice.
  • Worker Return to Work Achievement Award.