Nominate now for the 2023 WorkSafe Awards

Businesses and individuals going above and beyond to improve workplace health and safety are being urged to share their stories as part of this year’s WorkSafe Awards.


Now in their 34th year, nominations are open for the 2023 awards, which will again celebrate and honour the achievements of those who have made a significant contribution to reducing workplace harm and/or improving outcomes for injured workers.

A key focus of the awards is to recognise the efforts of employers who have implemented leading return to work practices, as well as injured workers who have overcome significant barriers in their quest to return to work.

The Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm category forms part of WorkSafe’s efforts in tackling the overrepresentation of the agricultural industry in workplace deaths and injuries.

The valuable work of health and safety representatives will again be highlighted in the Health and Safety Representative of the Year category.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Colin Radford said the awards had long been an important opportunity for Victorian-based employers and workers to showcase their workplace safety efforts and share best practice solutions to often complex health and safety risks.

"The WorkSafe Awards has a long history of celebrating those who put workplace health and safety at the top of their agenda," Mr Radford said.

"I encourage businesses large and small, and individuals regardless of what industry they work in, to nominate.

"In addition to hearing the inspirational stories of finalists, one of the most satisfying aspects of last year’s awards was the diverse range of industries that were represented, including construction, education, health, maritime, retail, racing and agriculture."

Nominations are open to all Victorian-based employers and workers, and entrants can nominate themselves or another person. Entries close 23 June 2023.

The categories for this year's awards are:

  • Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace
  • Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm
  • Health and Safety Representative of the Year
  • Leading Return to Work Practice
  • OHS Leadership/Achievement
  • Worker Return to Work Achievement Award
  • Workplace Health and Safety Solution of the Year

Winners will be announced in February 2024.