Criteria for the licensing of an asbestos removalists

Describes the difference between the 4 types of asbestos removal licences, the training and experience requirements and the licence fees.


What it contains

Asbestos is a highly dangerous substance and removalists must have a WorkSafe licence before commencing work.

The 4 licence types are:

  • Class A Asbestos Removalists
  • Class A Specific Friable Asbestos Removalists
  • Class B Asbestos Removalists
  • Class B Specific Non-Friable Asbestos Removalists.

The requirements for Class A licences are stricter because friable asbestos (meaning crumbled or powdery asbestos) is more dangerous than non-friable.