Last chance to nominate for 2023 WorkSafe Awards

Time is running out to nominate for the 2023 WorkSafe Awards, with entries closing at the end of the month.


The awards, now in their 34th year, will honour businesses and individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to workplace health and safety, wellbeing and return to work.

WorkSafe Chief Executive Colin Radford said nominations had been extended to 30 June to allow people who were considering nominating to get their entries in.

“The WorkSafe Awards highlight some of the great work being done to advance occupational health and safety and gives important recognition to those who are leading the way,” Mr Radford said.

“We encourage any business or individual with a great health and safety story to tell to get their entries in.”

2022 award winner Renata Musolino, who dedicated her more than 30-year career to improving workplace health and safety outcomes including training thousands of health and safety representatives, said the awards were important acknowledgement for people whose work often went unrecognised.

“I think it’s very important to recognise people, from my point of view, particularly … the health and safety reps, they’re often not only unsung but they’re often put in difficult positions, so when they’re able to do really good things it’s great to have them recognised,” Ms Musolino said.

“Clearly, some of the solutions are also fabulous, which is about thinking outside the box preventing injury, preventing disease, preventing fatalities – so wonderful – it has to be acknowledged.”

Nominations for the WorkSafe Awards are open to all Victorian-based employers and workers, and entrants can nominate themselves or another person. Entries close 30 June 2023.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony in February 2024.

The categories for this year’s awards are:

  • Commitment to Prevention of Mental Injury in the Workplace
  • Commitment to Workplace Health and Safety on a Farm
  • Health and Safety Representative of the Year
  • Leading Return to Work Practice
  • OHS Leadership/Achievement
  • Worker Return to Work Achievement Award
  • Workplace Health and Safety Solution of the Year

For more information or to make a nomination visit